Khalid scores a brace to send Perak into the final

Source : The Star

IPOH: Perak are through to the Malaysia Cup final – thanks to two goals by former national striker Khalid Jamlus at the Perak Stadium here last night. 

They defeated Sabah 2-1 in the semi-final second-leg match to advance 3-2 on aggregate.  

Khalid was on target in the 11th and 39th minutes to take his tally to 23 goals in all competitions. Jul Amri Mohd pulled a goal back for Sabah. 

Perak had their top striker, Keita Mandjou, held on a tight leash by the Sabah defence. But it did not stop the Seladang from taking an early lead.

Former international Yusri Che Lah broke loose on the right and he whipped in a grounder past the face of the goalmouth for Khalid, who got past his markers, to stab the ball home. 

Perak were unlucky not to stretch their lead in the 22nd minute. Freed by skipper Ahmad Shahrul Azhar, diminutive midfielder Danial Fadly put his shot straight at goalkeeper Irwan Jamil. 

Sabah were not about to surrender without a fight and their Nigerian striker, Charles Obi, tested goalkeeper Mohd Nasril Nourdin in the 27th minute.  

But five minutes later, the Rhinos were on level terms with Jul Amri nodding in a cross from Zainizam Marjan. 

It did not take long for Perak to get the home crowd on their feet in the 39th minute. It was Khalid again, this time latching on to a loose ball, after Yusri had collided with the advancing Irwan, to put the ball into an open goal. 

Sabah came back strongly after the break with Obi and his Brazilian partner Feliberto De Oliveira threatening the Perak goal. Only the good work of Mohd Nasril kept the Rhinos at bay.  

Sabah were also let down by poor finishing. 

Perak: Mohd Nasril Nourdin, Chan Wing Hong, Vedran Kukoc, K. Nanthakumar, Ahmad Azlan Zainal, Ahmad Shahrul Azhar, Shahrulnizam Mustapha, Danial Fadly, Yusri Che Lah (Ahmad Fakri Saarani), Khalid Jamlus (Wong Sai Kong), Keita Mandjou (R. Surendran).  

Sabah: Irwan Jamil, Jul Amri Muhamad (Azrul Danzah), Ronny Harun (Radzi Hussin), Ahmad Tarmizi Saiban, Dragic Dalibor, Redzuan Radzy, Feliberto De Oliveira (Bobby Gonzales), Mohd Munir Amran, Rosdin Wasli, Zainizam Marjan, Charles Obi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *