Musa new FA supremo

KOTA KINABALU: Datuk Seri Musa Hj Aman wins the Sabah FA presidency unopposed.

The honorable Chief Minister was the sole candidate nominated for the FA’s top post when the nomination closed last Sunday (June 14).

Deputy President Datuk Lawrence Gimbang confirmed this to the New Sabah Times Sport yesterday.

“It is great news to football in Sabah,” commented Gimbang, adding that with Musa at the helm, it gives the sport the much needed boost.

Musa will be officially announced as the president when the FA holds its Annual General Meeting cum election for new office bearers on Saturday.

Musa will succeed Foreign Affairs Minister Datuk Anifah Aman, who did not seek re-election due to work commitment.

During Anifah’s era, Sabah was undoubtedly one of the dominant forces in the country’s football scene.

It was under his leadership that Sabah won their first major honour taking home the Premier League I crown, now known as the Super League, in 1996. Besides that Sabah also managed to make three Malaysia Cup final appearances – 1996, 2002, 2003, but unfortunately, the country’s most prestigious trophy remains to be an elusive one for Sabah.

And now Musa will be the man we are all counting on to complete the unfinished mission.

For the Deputy President’s post, there is likely to be a contest.

Incumbent Gimbang and former Vice President Datuk Osman Jamal each received three nominations.

Interior Zone, North Zone and West Coast South Zone nominated Gimbang, while Osman received nominations from West Coast Zone, Tawau Zone and Sandakan Zone.

Gimbang also received nominations for one of the vice presidents’ post from Tawau Zone and Sandakan Zone while Osman received nominations for the post from West Coast South, North Zone and Interior Zone.

Both Gimbang and Osman will have to choose which position they will contest as under the FA’s constitution, they are only allowed to go for one post.

Besides Gimbang and Osman, there are seven other names being nominated for the vice presidents’ post.

Among them are former State player and Finance Ministry’s Permanent Secretary Datuk Hj Yusof Hj Kassim, who was also once the vice presidents of the FA in the late 80s.

There are four zones nominating Yusof namely North Zone, West Coast South Zone, Interior Zone and Tawau Zone while another candidate receiving four nominations for the post is KH Tan.

He received nominations from Tawau Zone, Interior Zone, West Coast South Zone and North Zone.

The other nominees are current Treasurer and former Rhinos’ team manager Joehari Datuk Ayub, incumbent Vice President Hj Husin Hj Abdurahim and Juil Nuatim. All three are nominated by West Coast Zone.

The remaining two candidates are Shariman Abdullah and Jerry Lo Fui Kong. They are being nominated by Sandakan Zone.

For the record, Hairul Benjamin is the incumbent for the Vice President I while Murtaza Hj Amirdad Vice President II while Hj Husin is Vice President III.

The rests of the posts are by appointment namely secretary general, assistant secretary general, treasurer, assistant treasurer, five independent members and executive secretary.

Alfred Lojitan is the current secretary general while Joehari is the treasurer. The Rhinos’ team manager Rahman Zakaria is one of the five independent members. The rest are Senator Datuk Maijol Mahap, Datuk Mohd Bakri Zinin, Mustapha Tuah, and Daud Hj Aman.

The chairmen of the respective zones will gain automatic entry into the FA’s supreme council.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *